Basketball

I Was This Close To Taking The Thunder Seriously

Grant Anschuetz | Slump Sports Blogger

With their season ending the other night (Monday, May 30 to be exact), there is a lot of uncertainty surrounding the Oklahoma City Thunder as they head into the offseason.

But there is one thing that is set in stone as far as I’m concerned, the Thunder are still not a serious title contender in my opinion.

sad_kd

That may come off as ignorant considering they were one win away from the NBA Finals, but the bottom line is that I never once have said either aloud or in my head: “I think the Thunder will win the NBA Finals this year.”

Now granted, they have only been in existence for a short time (since 2008), but they have had numerous chances in the playoffs. And all of those chances ended in failure. They consistently come up short.

It’s for those reasons that I’ve never anticipated them winning it all. And for all the hype/buzz they receive (mainly Westbrook and Durant), I’ve considered them to be the most overrated team in the league.

All of that could have changed this year. They had one of the greatest teams of all time/defending champs on the ropes, up 3-1 in the series and leading at the half in Game 7. And they lost.

At no point did I ever expect the Thunder to beat the Warriors in the series. Even up 3-1, I expected the Thunder to ultimately be eliminated, partially because of the Warriors skill level and partially because of the Thunder’s inability to finish.

To sum things up, this is about what could have been. If the Thunder eliminated the Warriors, then I would be forced to take them seriously (even though the last time they faced LeBron in the finals it didn’t go so well.)

And if they were to have won it all this year, I would have had to give them serious respect. But that is all “if’s” and nothing has changed. Another day goes by where I believe the Thunder to be the most overrated team in the league. As well as a team that I can’t bring myself to take seriously or to respect.

All in all, it was just another kick in the nuts for the Oklahoma City Thunder.

24araton1-blog427

Agree or Disagree? Let me know with a comment.

One thought on “I Was This Close To Taking The Thunder Seriously

  1. i agree that the thunder have had many chances to win in the playoffs . and if this year wasnt enough losing when up 3-1 then one should know that the westbrook / durant experience might not be the best championship formula

    Like

Leave a Reply

