Non-Sports

Top 5 Rappers Right Now

Grant Anschuetz | Slump Sports

This chunk of the summer is the down time in sports. Everyone knows that.

So for those that read our stuff or for those checking this out for the first time, you can expect more non-sports related content during this time.

And you can expect lists. Lots of lists because they always seem to spark debates.

Am I qualified to judge who the best rappers in the game right now are? Heck no.

But that’s why America is awesome because I have a platform in which I can express my opinion on it.

The music industry, like all content, is a “what have you done for me lately” business. So keep that in mind when you read this.

Let’s go.

No. 5 = Wale

You’re thinking I’m crazy I know. How is Wale on here? His recent song “My PYT” is a Michael Jackson spin-off. And guess what? It’s good. So props to him for putting his own spin on an all-time classic.

 

No. 4 = Kent Jones

You’ve heard his song by now even if you didn’t know it was him. “Don’t Mind.” I have no idea why it’s named that. I don’t think he even says that phrase in the whole song. He has a Caribbean/Jamaican feel to his voice which helps. He is a good buddy with DJ Khaled which helps. There is a choreographed dance to his song which lately (think “watch me whip”) helps an incredible amount. All in all, the man is on the rise.

 

No. 3 = Fetty Wap

I don’t know if Fetty Wap is still considered a rapper or is moving to the “Lil Jon Hype Guy” category. The guy that yells things in a catchy voice to hype up the song. Either way, Fetty Wap’s voice is riveting stuff. I don’t know how much it is for him to be featured on a track, but it has to be worth it. Anything he touches is catchy.

 

No 2. = Mike Stud

“Who? What an awful name.” That’s what you’re thinking. Hear me out. He is on the rise. He has his own TV Show. He releases a new song pretty frequently. He sounds similar to Drake. Check him out. Just ignore the stage name that he chose in college. We all make mistakes.

 

No. 1 = Drake

Who else? The rap alpha dog even though a lot of his songs are about emotional stuff. This one doesn’t need much explanation. One Dance is the song of the summer. Although I can’t link it for you because Drake is protective of his music, so I’ll give you a classic. Victory for Toronto.

 

Ones that I missed that I can sense that people will be upset about are both Chance the Rapper and G-Eazy. Look, I know they exist. I’ve listened to their stuff. They each have about one song that I really enjoy and those songs aren’t current. That’s about it.

Other than that, let me know what you think and what you would change with a comment. Encourage debate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

